So Simple Strawberry Shortcake

   

Strawberry Shotcake

     When I think of classic summer desserts Strawberry Shortcake is always the first to come to mind. Now, I know it isn’t summer yet but, sometimes you gotta “fake it to make it” and that is just what I did the other night.

   I cut this recipe to make for just two people because I didn’t want leftovers in the house (that is too dangerous). I also completely revamped the original recipe substituting with things in my pantry I thought may make this cake more of a “taste explosion!” – if you will.

My Recipe: (Note: if you are making for more people this is easy to double)

1 C. Flour (I used whole wheat because it was what I had but white will do) 

1/4 C. Sugar

1 Tsp. Baking soda

Pinch of salt

1 Egg white

2 Tbs. Butter/Margarine (basically the same thing)

Splash of skim milk

1 Tsp. Cinnamon

1 Tsp. vanilla extract

2 Tbs. ground almonds

2 C.  stemmed and sliced strawberries

   Wash your strawberries stem them and slice them, sprinkle some sugar on them and place them in the refridgerator for a few hours (this step makes the strawberries syrupy, however, I don’t do this step because we prefer them without syrup so, this step is optional)

   I blended everything in one bowl, mixing dry ingredients first then adding the wet.

   Grease a baking pan and place your dallops of mixture on them (try to keep the dallops separate).

   Bake for 20 min aprox at 375 degrees.

Enjoy! 

 

   Do you remember this Strawberry Shortcake? I used to have thses toys when I was young and I remember that they smelled so good!

About marnerella

I love robots...True story!
This entry was posted in I Made 'em Myself and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

