So Simple Almond Cookies With Dark Chocolate and Orange

Almond cookies dipped in dark chocolate with orange zest

 

OK, I actually came up with this recipe myself…I think.

I was inspired by the Kraft peanut butter cookies seen here (http://www.kraftcanada.com/en/recipes/super-easy-peanut-butter-cookies-85456.aspx) that are a dream because they have only 3 ingredients in them! That is unheard of!

I don’t mind peanut butter cookies, and in the past I have made these for friends and they were a hit; but, I was looking to do some experiment’n and I wanted almonds not peanuts!

Here is the recipe I came up with:

1 c. almond butter

1/2 c. sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp of vanilla extract (optional)

2 large dark chocolate bars

1 orange for zesting 

1 c. slivered almonds

HEAT oven to 325°F. Mix together almond butter, egg, sugar and vanilla until well blended.

ROLL dough into balls; place on baking sheets and flatten then with a fork.

BAKE 15-20 min. (though I would really watch them they tend to burn easily, not that I know from experience *ahem) or until lightly browned. Place the cookies on a cooling rack or parchment paper to cool off.

WHILE the cookies are cooling get a double boiler ready (an empty sauce pan sitting in a saucepan filled with hot/boiling water). In the empty top saucepan place your dark chocolate and sprinkle some orange zest. When the chocolate is melted take your cookies and dip half of the cookie in the dark chocolate then place back on the cooling rack. sprinkle with the slivered almonds and TADA!

*note if you have a nut allergy don’t try this at home – just say’n*

About marnerella

I love robots...True story!
This entry was posted in I Made 'em Myself and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

